Board Members

Janette A. Ekanem, ESQ.

Board Member

Janette A. Ekanem is Assistant General Counsel for Atrius Health. Previously, she worked as an associate for a Boston Law firm where she represented businesses, nonprofits, human service providers, colleges, universities, and other entities in a variety of employment matters including counsel on hiring, personnel policies, discrimination, retaliation, investigations, pay equity, and wage and hour compliance.  Attorney Ekanem also previously worked in the Employment Law Unit at Greater Boston Legal Services.

From 2020-2021, Attorney Ekanem served as President of the Massachusetts Black Women Attorneys (“MBWA”). In addition to serving on the Board of Directors of the MBWA for the last seven years including in her current capacity as Immediate Past President, Attorney Ekanem serves as a member of the Boston Bar Association’s Labor and Employment Steering Committee, and served as Vice Chair of the Massachusetts Bar Association’s (“MBA”) Labor and Employment Section Council. Attorney Ekanem also founded and served two terms as Chair the MBA’s Paid Family and Medical Leave Law working group. Additionally, in 2021, Attorney Ekanem was appointed by the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court to serve a three-year term on the Interest on Lawyers Trust Accounts (“IOLTA”) Committee. She is also a member of the Clark University President Leadership Council, and was selected to the BBA Public Interest Leadership Program.

In 2020 and 2021, Attorney Ekanem was selected to Super Lawyers, Rising Stars, has been named as a Top Woman Attorney in Massachusetts by Super Lawyers, and is recognized in the 2021 and 2022 edition of Best Lawyers in America: Ones to Watch. In 2019, Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly honored Attorney Ekanem as an “Up & Coming Lawyer,” and she received the Distinguished Young Alumni Award from Clark University.

Attorney Ekanem holds a B.A. in Government and International Relations, Magna Cum Laude, (2009) and a Master of Public Administration (2010), from Clark University. She is a 2013 graduate of Northeastern University School of Law.